First slide

News & Updates


Dave Duncan, 85, was a popular novelist who dreamed up fantastical worlds

Dave Duncan was 53 years old when his first novel was published, yet he went on to author more than 60 books and left more than a dozen unpublished manuscripts in various stages of completion when he died on Oct. 29 at age 85.

One of Canada’s most prolific fantasy and science fiction writers, Mr. Duncan wrote many popular series, including The Seventh Sword, The King’s Blades and The Great Game. He also experimented with other genres, including historical fantasy and young adult fiction... Read more

Posted: November 26, 2018

Obituary For Dave Duncan

Noted Science Fiction and Fantasy writer Dave Duncan, died peacefully on October 29, 2018 in Victoria, BC. surrounded by his family. He will be sadly missed by his wife Janet, his son Nick Duncan(Jay), his daughters Jennifer Press (Richard) and Judy Duncan (Don McIntosh), his brother Michael Duncan, and his grandchildren Kevin, Jessica, Brendan and Sam... Read More

Posted: November 26, 2018

"The Years of Longdirk" Series-- Addition

The three books in the series (Demon Sword, Demon Rider, & Demon Knight) never quite completed the story. There should have been a Book Four. I have added a brief PS to the third book explaining this omission, and how I think the saga would have ended. If you already own an e-book copy, this update is now available free of charge from your supplier. If you buy the paperback in future, it will be included. (Thanks to the cooperation of my current publisher, Open Road Integrated Media.) If you already own a paper book, you can view a copy of the postscript here.

Posted: September 6, 2018

Pillar of Darkness

Only four months until Pillar of Darkness will be released, so I have posted the first chapter here.

Posted: August 24, 2018

Now Hear This

A great majority of my books are available in audio form, but the Blades books have been conspicuous by their silence. Thanks to an initiative by Lorina Stephens, of Five River Publishing, this is about to change. Of course to read and record eight books will take time.  And lots more time to listen to, but I hope the results will begin to appear soon.  The campaign cannot end until 2020, when the ninth book, The Ethical Swordsman will be  published.    

Posted: August 18, 2018

About Dave Duncan


Originally from Scotland, Dave Duncan has lived all his adult life in Western Canada, having enjoyed a long career as a petroleum geologist before taking up writing. Since discovering that imaginary worlds are more satisfying than the real one, he has published more than fifty novels, mostly in the fantasy genre, but also science fiction, young adult, and historical. Thanks to the arrival of digital publishing, all of his books are now available in e-book and POD formats.

His most successful works have been fantasy series: “The Seventh Sword”, “A Man of His Word” and its sequel, “A Handful of Men”, and seven books about “The King’s Blades”

He and Janet have been married since 1959. They have one son and two daughters, who in turn are responsible for a spinoff series of four grandchildren. Dave now lives in Victoria, BC.

He is both a founder member and honorary lifetime member of SFCanada, and a member of the CSFFA Hall of Fame.

His agent is Richard Curtis at


Dave Duncan Book Titles


View all of Dave Duncan's titles arranged by series. Click on the book covers for more information about individual titles.

The Enchanter General

  • Ironfoot: The Enchanter General #1

    Ironfoot: The Enchanter General #1

  • Trial by Treason: Enchanter General #2

    Trial by Treason: Enchanter General #2

  • Merlin Redux: The Enchanter General #3

    Merlin Redux: The Enchanter General #3

The Seventh Sword

  • The Reluctant Swordsman

    The Reluctant Swordsman

  • The Coming of Wisdom

    The Coming of Wisdom

  • The Destiny of the Sword

    The Destiny of the Sword

  • The Death of Nnanji

    The Death of Nnanji

Recent Standalone Fantasy

  • Against the Light

    Against the Light

  • ILL Met In The Arena

    ILL Met In The Arena

  • Irona 700

    Irona 700

  • The Eye of Strife

    The Eye of Strife

  • Portal of a Thousand Worlds

    Portal of a Thousand Worlds

Recent Science Fiction

  • Pock‘s World

    Pock‘s World

  • Wildcatter


  • Eocene Station

    Eocene Station

  • Pillar of Darkness

    Pillar of Darkness

A Man Of His Word

  • Magic Casement

    Magic Casement

  • Faery Lands Forlorn

    Faery Lands Forlorn

  • Perilous Seas

    Perilous Seas

  • Emperor and Clown

    Emperor and Clown

A Handful Of Men

  • The Cutting Edge

    The Cutting Edge

  • Upland Outlaws

    Upland Outlaws

  • The Stricken Field

    The Stricken Field

  • The Living God

    The Living God

Follow me on Amazon


To get notified whenever a new book is released on amazon, all you need to do is follow Dave Duncan on amazon.